About the Awards

About the Awards

Our Spirit of Anne Frank Awards are given out each year to students, teachers and citizens who have proven themselves exceptional leaders in their communities. This leadership is exhibited in their desire and drive to combat intolerance, prejudice and injustice.

The work and dedication shown by these applicants should be at such a level to enact lasting change, such as: helping to change legislation, starting or running a non-profit, and writing books or creating documentaries to bring awareness to issues in their communities. We offer these awards to those who carry on Anne Frank’s message and legacy of hope, courage, peace, justice and equality.

Students can apply for our Spirit of Anne Frank Scholarship Awards, which are available to high school seniors who will be attending a four year college. One winner will receive The Leah and Edward Frankel $10,000 scholarship, to be evenly divided throughout the four years of their college education. A second winner will receive a one-time $5,000 scholarship from ING. Additional runners up will receive a one-time stipend towards their college education.

Educators and Citizens can apply or be nominated for our Outstanding Educator Award or our Outstanding Citizen Award.

All winners will attend our Annual Spirit of Anne Frank Awards Gala held every June in honor of Anne’s birthday.

The application process is closed for 2015.

Information on the 2016 awards will be available in the fall of 2015.

Qualifications for Applicants

Spirit of Anne Frank Scholarship

The scholarship is only available to high school seniors who will be attending a four year college.

These students must exhibit extraordinary leadership in their schools and communities and a meaningful effort to address issues of social justice. This interest and involvement should be exhibited by a student spearheading organizations, programs or events that address issues of intolerance, prejudice and injustice in their communities.

Applicants must submit a completed application, two letters of recommendation and a personal essay.

Outstanding Educator Award

This award is to recognize the outstanding leadership and dedication in educators around the country who consistently lead and inspire their students and fellow educators. This award recognizes educators who pay special attention to the importance of teaching about the dangers of intolerance and prejudice and who inspire those around them into action.

Applicants can self-submit or be nominated. See the application for additional details.

Outstanding Citizen Award

This award recognizes exemplary citizens around the country who are community leaders, bridge builders and role models and have exhibited a dedication to speaking up against prejudice and inequality in their communities. This award is for citizens who have taken an active role in their community, by bringing awareness to an issue and by taking steps to enact change. These citizens should be leaders or active participants in organizations, programs or events in their communities.

Applicants can self-submit or be nominated. See the application for additional details.

See the work of our SAFA 2014 Winners in this video.


“We have many reasons to hope for great happiness, but…we have to earn it. And that’s something you can’t do by taking the easy way out. Earning happiness means doing good and working…”

—Anne Frank, July 6, 1944