Previous Winners


2013 Award Winners


Peter and Elisa Rapaport Peter and Elisa Rapaport are committed to education, volunteerism, and stewardship. Both have earned respect for their dedication to community service and support through the Rapaport Family Charitable Trust. Peter and Elisa are honored to be able to support numerous human-service organizations. This is a legacy they hope to pass onto their two young children. Steve Berry Steve Berryis an international best selling author whose books have been translated into 40 languages. History lies at the heart of every Steve Berry novel. It’s his passion, one he shares with his wife, Elizabeth, which led them to create History Matters, a foundation dedicated to historic preservation.
Julia Joy McBee Julia Joy McBee was a top-ranked senior at the Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts in West Palm Beach Florida. Julia has been a non stop advocate in the campaign to prevent human trafficking and has been instrumental in efforts to lobby the state to pass laws against such cruelty. Julia plans to major in international studies and political science and to continue to focus on social issues including human trafficking. Kathryn Anne Butler Kathryn Anne Butler is attending George Washington University. She has played the lead role in efforts to promote anti-bullying legislation in both Michigan and on a national level. She gathered 56,000 signatures for Michigan’s anti-bullying bill removing offensive language. She organized a second petition changing the rating of BULLY to PG13 from R.
Janet Chen Janet Chen is a strong and influential activist for teen suicide prevention. She created and chaired a committee that drafted suicide prevention legislation that was adopted and passed by the Colorado Senate and House of Representatives. She has volunteered as an attorney for Teen Court and has interned for her congressional representative. She is attending Columbia University. Meghan McNeeley Meghan McNeeley is a teacher at the Clarke Middle School in Athens, Georgia. She has worked tirelessly for years to raise Holocaust awareness and to develop Holocaust education incentives through the inspiration of Anne Frank. Meghan has also participated in the Holocaust and Jewish Resistance Teachers’ Program.


2012 Award Winners


Jack and Ina Jack Polak met Ina Soep in June 1943, in Nazi-occupied Netherlands. They both ended up in Westerbork transit camp, from which prisoners were sent to camps across Europe. Against all odds, Jack and Ina continued on to the notorious Bergen-Belsen concentration camp…. Stanley Stewart Stanley Stewart is a teen leader in VOX’s JUST Georgia Initiative, a program that brings young people’s voices to the legislative agenda of rewriting Georgia’s juvenile code. He became involved with the Initiative, knowing how too quickly children can find themselves in juvenile systems.
Matthew Ferguson In August of 2008 Matt Ferguson returned home from football practice to find his mother in tears and his family gathered in the living room. His father announced that his mother had been diagnosed with aggressive breast cancer. It was life changing moment… Rachel Marichal Rachel Mirachal was profoundly affected by Anne’s diary, and while volunteering at the local food pantry saw the growing need for family food assistance 67 years after Anne’s family suffered similar food deprivations. Inspired to act, Rachel became a driving force in behind the Paramus Helping Paramus Food Drive…
Sudip Bhandari In response to the growing culture of youth violence and limited knowledge of the Holocaust, in the summer of 2011, Sudip Bhandari founded The Anne Frank Project. Funded by a St. Olaf College Entrepreneurial Grant, he traveled to Nepal committed to teaching students about the atrocities of the Holocaust… Steven Howell, Ph.D A longtime classroom educator at James A. Garfield High, Garrettsville, Ohio, Dr. Steven Howell has worked tirelessly for many years to confront discrimination and to bring the importance of the history of the Holocaust and other genocides into his teaching curriculum…


2011 Award Winners


Sy Sternberg Sy Sternberg has been very closely associated with Big Brothers Big Sisters of New York City for over 30 years and has served on the Board of the New York City Leadership Academy since it was founded in 2003 as a primary training center for principals… Joseph Langerman Joseph Alexander Langerman, a recent graduate of Coronado High School, is the Founder of Voices Against Cruelty, Hatred, and Intolerance (VACHI), a movement designed to end hate-motivated behavior on high school campuses. …
Jordan Hannink Jordan Hannink drafted the charter of the Red Heel Coalition after talking with her principal about feelings of prejudice as a young woman in society. The Coalition’s motto “invest in a girl and she will do the rest” was originally met with hostility… Raechel Rosen Raechel Rosen, has performed and spoken at the United Nations, The World Bank, The International Children’s Day of Peace, and at Carnegie Hall. After attending a global awareness program in Malawi, Africa and witnessing the devastation wrought by HIV, Ms. Rosen created a song…
Emma Sullivan Emma Sullivan adopted two underserved elementary schools and started an organization called Caring About Tomorrow’s Students (CATS). She recruited 65 high school student volunteers to raise money to buy… Mark Hanis Mark Hanis is the Founder and President of Genocide Intervention Network/Save Darfur Coalition (GI-NET/SDC), the largest anti-genocide organization in the world, boasting a supported base of over one million activists, a nationwide…


2010 Winners


2009 Winners


Abdul Hafiz
Anya Cordell
Madeleine Shukurani
Michele Pinczauk
Noreen Brand
Ronald B. Bruder
George Stevens, Jr.
Sejal Hathi
Tara Suri
Richard B. Jones
Tim Salem
Jesse Schmitt
Dr. Ellen Kennedy